That’s Why I Was Hiding in the Bathroom!

“I didn’t get to hug you during greeting time today!”

Yeah.  That’s because I was hiding in the bathroom during greeting time because I DIDN’T WANT TO BE HUGGED TODAY.

The United Methodist Church is a huggy place.  And thanks to some relationship glitches, and PTSD and anxiety, I now have issues with hugging.   The people in my daily circle have come to terms with this, and they watch my body language for indicators that I’m not going to lose it entirely if they try to touch me.  At my church, if I disappear during greeting time, it’s a good bet I’m hiding SO DON’T TRY TO HUG ME LATER.

Last week I was in a church I visit occasionally.  It was difficult for me to show up, and people, and adult, but answering to my mother about why I wasn’t in church with my family ON EASTER SUNDAY was slightly more frightening, so there I was.  Among people whom I had not seen in months, which is just a hugging storm brewing.  So at greeting time, on Easter Sunday, I was hiding in the bathroom.

But because the United Methodist Church is a huggy place, as soon as the service was over, before I could run away, six people came charging up to me, all huggy, saying “I didn’t get to hug you during greeting time.  How are you?”

I was JUST FINE until you got all huggy.  Now I have to go home and take a 3 hour nap because I have exhausted myself tolerating all this HUGGING.

THANK YOU, and GOOD NIGHT.

Leave a Reply

